2016 Book Review Part 1

image.jpeg

Called For Life by Kent Brantly

Many of you may remember Dr. Kent Brantly’s highly publicized arrival from Liberia to Emory hospital in Atlanta in the summer of 2014. He was the first American to be treated for the virus in the United States. Dr. Brantly contracted the dreaded Ebola virus while treating people during the outbreak. What you may not know is that his wife and kids flew home to America three days prior to when he contracted the virus, leaving Kent to suffer alone and both to worry that they would never see each other alive again. This autobiography is written from Kent and Amber’s perspectives, providing backstory to not only how they ended up in the heart of the outbreak but also they’re calling to missions and medicine.
Dr. Brantly’s leadership and maturity are something to be admired. After all, he had only been in Liberia for less than a year when he was called upon to spearhead the fight against ebola in Western Africa. Rarely do you see someone exhibit dedication and faith quite like Kent Brantly did throughout his treatment of Ebola patients. However, the book is written with incredible humility and character, and leaves you wishing you could simply have coffee with Dr. Brantly.
It is an easy read, which I recommend to anyone interested in missions and medicine.

A Man Called Ove by Fredrick Backman

You’ve probably never heard of this book before. But you should have. Because I thoroughly enjoyed it.
This book is about a grumpy old curmudgeon. He has routines he loves order and things that are easily understood. Things are constantly changing around him, especially in this new digital age and he quite frankly doesn’t like it one bit. Throughout the course of the story you learn that his beloved wife has passed away six months prior to the books beginning. You learn that his world is black-and-white and she was color. I’ve this point in the story, all he wants to do is die. Sounds depressing right? Well it really isn’t. The story becomes all about the truth I believe that is: if we are alive, we have purpose. If we have breath in our lungs, we can be a blessing to others. But the message is not quite as in-your-face as that. Various colorful characters come into his life that need him. And it just plain gets on his nerves. Because if you’ll remember, all he wants to do is die. But he does it out of duty to his beloved wife. The story leaves you with a smiling heart, realizing we all change other peoples lives if we simply choose to participate in this thing called life.
Did I mention this book takes place in Sweden? I did googled the current used to figure it out. BTW you pronounce his name “Oova.”

Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert

This book. Man. Parts of this book knocked me off my feet. It was written by the same woman that wrote “Eat Pray Love,” by a creative to creatives.
As someone who has struggled with a fear of failure for their whole life, this book felt like a challenge written personally to me. I loved the way that Gilbert describe the relationship between creativity and fear. She has accepted fear as the unavoidable wicked stepsister in her marriage with creativity. Probably my favorite part of the book was her letter to fear in which she to clears that she understands that fear will be joining her along her creative journey but that it is allowed only a voice and not the ability to drive.
She talks a lot about “inspiration” and how she believes it flows freely throughout the universe visiting whomever it pleases the way that she talks about inspiration I was living spirit sort of gave me the heebie-jeebies but I can see where she’s coming from.
I appreciated the honesty of practicality with which she talked about a creative career. For example talking about how getting an art degree is not the same as getting a medical degree when it comes to job security.
Where it’s really good is when Gilbert describes why we are compelled to creativity despite the colony.But I don’t want to steal her thunder so I’ll leave the rest to Liz. But seriously, if you’re a creative, go. Get. This. Book.

Why Not Me by Mindy Kaling

I love Mindy Kaling and I love her TV show but I honestly can’t think of one reason why you should read this book. That’s all.

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

From the prologue of this book it felt like talking to a friend. And not just any friend the kind of friend that makes you laugh out loud and thinking “I thought I was the only one that felt that way, but I’m not!” on a regular basis. I picked this book up because if its theme of mental illness, and was intrigued by its comical discussion of the topic. As someone who has battled depression and anxiety, this book reminded me why I need not be shameful of those parts of my story.  But that’s the difference between me and the author of this book I know that depression anxiety or just a small part of my story where is the author believes mental illness to be her identity. Regardless,  if you or someone you love struggles with mental illness (sorry to sound like a TV ad here) I think you have something to gain from this book. The way she describes her own experience times made me laugh hysterically and other parts made me cry. I highly recommend listening to this on audiobook. This girl is CRA-ZY and hysterical she had me rolling. Disclaimer: it has EXCESSIVE foul language, so if that’s not something you can stomach, this might not be the book for you.

 

Leave a comment